A bit about me

08/19/2011 23:03

      I was born in Germany and have traveled extensively, partly due to growing up as a "Military Brat."  I love U.S. History and Political Science.  I believe that the Social Studies are a critical component in every student's education.  My hobbies include traveling, golfing, hiking, motorcycling, and photography.

      I graduated from Hawaii Pacific University in August 1997 with a Bachelor of Arts in Justice Administration, and while I hold the utmost respect for our public servants, I realized that I had little interest in becoming a police officer.  I wasn't sure what I wanted to do, but I knew what criteria my future career had to fulfill.  It needed to  benefit people, be honorable and respectable, provide an opportunity to play an active role in community relations and development, and allow me to grow while finding self-satisfaction in my work.  Teaching was a perfect match.

      I enrolled in SUNY Oswego's Graduate School of Education in the Spring '00 semester.  In the Spring '01 semester, I took the opportunity to spend a semester abroad in the Czech Republic where I participated in a TESOL program held in conjunction with Cambridge University.  After returning to the United States, I completed my Masters of Science in Education and my student teaching placements.  

     I worked for seven years at Windsor Central High School, a rural school in the Southern Tier of New York State, teaching U.S. History and Government, Participation in Government and Criminal Justice.  I also taught two courses in conjunction with the local community college, Broome Community College, a Public Policy course and a U.S. History and Government course; my students earned college credits for successful performance in these courses.

     I am honored and excited about joining the staff here at Kaohsiung American School.  Kaohsiung American School is a wonderful institution and I am already learning so much from the caring, competent, and professional staff of teachers and administrators.  I find teaching to be very rewarding and I look forward to many years of fun and effective teaching here at Kaohsiung American School.